An Evening with Matt Monro - dvd

 Click to enlarge

20th Anniversary of Matt Monro - 7th February 2005

"Sensational Matt Monro Performance Uncovered in London"


There are three releases:

  • Limited collector's edition - DVD with 88 page book by Michele Monro which is updated and enlarged from the Singer's Singer;
  • DVD edition;
  • VHS edition.

The DVD and VHS programmes contain the concert performance (around 50 minutes); a 25 minute documentary on Matt Monro - the Performer; and then a bonus of the songs from the performance being introduced by David Jacobs from BBC Radio.

The DVD will be region 0 so it will be region free and sold worldwide.

The only filmed, live performance of the legendary British singer Matt Monro, has been found nearly forty years after its recording. Two unopened film reels were discovered by Matt's widow Mickie, and his daughter Michele, in the family garage.

Mickie had been searching for mementos of Matt's career for Odeon Entertainment's forthcoming documentary on his life story, when the amazing find was made.

Commented Mickie, 'Like most people's garages there are dark corners, but I never realised that Matt had this film made during his 1967 tour of Australia and stored it in our garage on his return.'

The film of his live performance will be released by Odeon Entertainment DVD worldwide in 2005. Their Commercial Director, Wayne Allen, was delighted with the discovery. 'The film is in excellent condition despite being laid down for thirty seven years. It is the only surviving record of a great artist in the prime of his career, performing all his major hits in an intimate surrounding.' The DVD is scheduled to be released in Spring 2005, along with EMI's TV advertised collection - The Ultimate Matt Monro.

'This year will be the twentieth anniversary of my father's sad loss. With this unseen performance, EMI's TV advertised album and Odeon's documentary in the Spring, 2005 will truly be the year of Matt Monro,' said Michele.

Competition is now closed. Please find the correct answers here.


Matt Monro in Cabaret - Song Listing

1. As long as I'm singing.

2. How do you do.

3. What to do.

4. My kind of girl.

5. Yesterday.

6. You're nobody until somebody loves you.

7. Portrait of my love.

8. Walk away.

9. In the arms of love.

10. From Russia with love.

11. Georgy girl.

12. Born free.

13. Softly as I leave you.
(Shaper/de Vita)

home :: news :: biography :: discography :: archive :: photos :: concerts
:: links :: submissions :: guestbook ::contact

site run by: Geoff Leonard Bristol England
web design: Ruud Rozemeijer